Book review: The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP) by Kate Winter

14 May

THARP coverFalling in love is never simple. Especially when you’re dead.

When Rosie Potter wakes up one morning with what she assumes is the world’s worst hangover, the last thing she expects is to discover that she’s actually dead. With a frustrating case of amnesia, suspicious circumstances surrounding her untimely demise, and stuck wearing her ugliest flannel PJs, Rosie must figure out not only what happened last night, but why on earth she’s still here.

Slowly the mystery unravels, but there are many other secrets buried in the quiet Irish village of Ballycarragh, and nobody is as innocent as they first appear. Aided by the unlikeliest of allies in her investigation, Rosie discovers that life after death isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, particularly when you might just be falling in love . . .

In this hilarious, life-affirming and romantic journey through Rosie Potter’s afterlife, she shares the ghostly tale of how she lived, she died, and she loved (in that order).

I do love a pretty cover so The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter caught my eye straight away. I’m also a fan of books with a paranormal element and they are quite rare in the chick lit genre so I was intrigued to see how having a ghost for a main character would work.

This is Kate Winter’s debut and I think she gets it spot on. The opening chapters are funny and light despite the fact that the lead character has just found out she’s dead! The writing in The Happy Ever Afterlife is witty and full of funny one liners. Rosie’s discovery that she is a ghost, despite the possibility that she has been murdered is handled with dark humour and I smiled many times as I read. Rosie can’t remember what happened to her and I liked the pace of the book as it moved from present to past to fill in the gaps about events leading to the fateful night of her death.

There’s a strong cast of supporting characters; Rosie’s best friend and housemate, Jenny is a brilliantly feisty character and I loved Rosie’s close knit family, especially her Mum and her brother Chris who she has always had a close relationship with. The banter between Rosie’s Mum and Dad really did make me laugh out loud and it was nice to see a strong male friendship in Chris and his best friend Charles.

I thought Kate got the balance just right between keeping the story funny and lighthearted but also including poignant moments. What surprised me most about this book was the romance element. As Rosie watches her boyfriend Jack cope with her death, the romance element of the book had a number of surprising twists and I thought it was very well done and made the book quite unique.

With elements of rom-com, paranormal romance and mystery, there’s something in Kate Winter’s debut for everyone. The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP) is quirky, fun and romantic and perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’s Twenties Girl. I love to know what happens next at the end of a story so the Epilogue of this book was the cherry on the cake for me . I’ll look forward to seeing what Kate writes next!

4/5

The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter is released on 21st May in trade paperback and ebook formats by Sphere.

I’d like to thank the publisher for providing a review copy of this novel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply