Book review: The Snow Globe by Sheila Roberts

2 Dec

snow globeWhen Kiley Gray discovers an enchanting snow globe in an antique shop, she has no idea how much her life is about to change. For years, the snow globe has passed from generation to generation, somehow always landing in the hands of a person in special need of a Christmas miracle. Kiley could use a miracle herself. This year, all she wants for Christmas is someone to love. A hopeful shake leads her on an adventure that makes a believer out of her. At Christmastime, sometimes the impossible becomes possible and miracles really do come true.

A few weeks ago the lovely people at Piatkus sent me a wonderful parcel with their new releases of three of Sheila Roberts’ Christmas stories inside. I was spoiled for choice as to which to read first but the lovely red cover of The Snow Globe caught my eye and as a big fan of magical realism, I couldn’t resist the story of a very special snow globe that changes the lives of those who give it a home.

Fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs will love this novel which is set in Seattle and follows the lives of three friends in the build up to Christmas. Kiley, Allison and Suzanne are great friends but very different in character and situation. Kiley has recently lost her job and her fiance dumped her for her sister; she’s down on her luck and in serious need of a Christmas boost!

In contrast, Suzanne has it all; a very successful job, a wonderful husband and daughter and a beautiful house but as we meet her, her workaholic tendencies and her drive to have the perfect house are causing her to overlook the people that matter most. Finally, Allison is the middle ground; happy with her jobs and boyfriend but missing the closeness she shared with her grandmother as the festive season approaches.

Kiley and Suzanne came across as the stronger characters in this short novel with Allison in more of a supporting role. I loved Kiley’s story right from the start as she discovers the magical snow globe in an antiques shop and learns of its history of helping those who need it. I liked the way the magic of the snow globe was worked into the story and how skeptical Suzanne was – this made the novel all the more believable to me.

Although written as one continuous story, as the snow globe passes to each of the friends in turn, there are three distinct stories in the novel. Kiley’s takes precedence and was my favourite but I enjoyed finding out how the globe would influence Allison and Suzanne’s lives too. With wonderful descriptions of delicious food and fab locations, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I’m now looking forward to reading Sheila’s other Christmas stories; The Nine Lives of Christmas and On Strike for Christmas.

The Snow Globe is a heartwarming festive read about friendship, family and love and at just over 160 pages is just perfect for curling up with by the Christmas tree!

4/5

The Snow Globe, The Nine Lives of Christmas and On Strike for Christmas  are all released in paperback and ebook formats today!

You can find out more about Sheila Roberts and her novels at: http://www.sheilasplace.com/

I’d like to thank Clara at Little, Brown Book Group for sending me a review copy of this book.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply